12
Aug
08

Stuff I’m Reading: DAR by Erika Moen

As people who know me already know, I am enjoying a bout of planned unemployment before grad school starts in September, which means that I have spent a frightening amount of time this summer sitting around in my underwear and reading webcomics.
But some good comes of this slothfulness, as today I stumbled across DAR: A Super Girly Top Secret Comic Diary by Erika Moen. Here’s a sample:
Things I Like
I’m totally charmed by this witty autobiographical comic that doesn’t take itself too seriously to make fart jokes. I especially love her take on the absurdities of sex. And her perspective on being a queer girl with a boyfriend is pretty awesome.

That last one really resonated with me because I, too, was pretty insecure about being seen as a L.U.G. (damn, that concept needs to die!) for a little while, even though I didn’t even identify as a lesbian for most of college. But still, I met my boyfriend about a month after I graduated… from a women’s college! So the timing was kind of hilarious. Now, I am way more secure in my still-queeritude, but it’s still always nice to find someone else who resists the “it was just a phase” stereotype.


4 Responses to “Stuff I’m Reading: DAR by Erika Moen”


  1. 13 August 2008 at 10:28 am

    Great. Now I have to read the WHOLE THING. Thanks a LOT.

    😉

  2. 2 Aviva
    13 August 2008 at 10:56 am

    Ha. Seconded. I’ve had DAR open on my computer for a few weeks, since I saw someone else reference Erika Moen as brilliant and having a great perspective on being a queer girl with a boyfriend. I even read the first year of it before I got distracted…I guess I’ll have to go back to it now. (Yay!)

  3. 3 Daomadan
    13 August 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Okay, I just spent an hour at work reading them all! I also am glad to see someone take the LUG stereotype and turn it on its head.

  4. 4 willendork
    15 August 2008 at 1:15 am

    ok, so… I may need to print out the one about guys not really wanting to date lesbians, carry it around with me, and hand it to the next guy who attempts to convert me, suggests a threesome, etc. priceless.


Leave a comment