01
Jul
09

Well, um, that was anti-climactic

I went to that wedding on Saturday. And no one said anything. Just in case any of you were waiting with bated breath to find out how it went, like I was. Yes, that’s right, not a word.

My tweets from the evening amused me, though:

Katy perry is playing and still no one is asking me about my sexuality…awesome!

People grinding on the dance floor and I’m laughing imagining “my wedding*” and my relative’s reactions as I danced on+made out w/all my friends

Managed to avoid joining the single ladies hoping to catch the bouquet, so tempted to join the group of single dudes hoping to catch the garter…

Every woman has her price, and this evening was worth it for the chocolate covered strawberries.

And that pretty much tells you how it went. Apparently I’m out to my family now, and I never ever have to talk about it? Awesome, I guess? We’ll see how continuing to talk freely about my life goes. I’ll report anything interesting here, but apparently interesting things will not be happening.

On a brighter note, Girlfriend, Esq. and I had a delightful anniversary. Yay us!

*”My wedding” in in quotations because I have no intention at this point of ever getting married. It’s kinda funny to imagine what it might be like if I did, though.

2 Responses to “Well, um, that was anti-climactic”


  1. 1 July 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Hm. Hopefully it was a this-is-no-big-deal silence, rather than a we-refuse-to-acknowledge-anything-outside-of-our-comfort-zone silence.

    I agree with what you said earlier about not wanting to do a big “Coming Out” announcement, in order to reinforce the idea that this is not something people should be getting melodramatic about. I like the idea of simply slipping things nonchalantly into conversation when the opportunity comes up. (I did have to have The Big Discussion with one of my friends, but that’s because there were other related issues reaching a simmering point that I had to address.) Actually, what I’d really like to do is give the one or two people that I have told free rein to tell whomever else they please; then I don’t have to do it. Ha.

  2. 2 liza-lou
    9 August 2009 at 12:55 am

    Hmm… I would like to totally do away with the coming out story too, especially since it implies some sort of ‘discovery’ of a ‘true’ and final identity. I generally refuse to come out as well; however, we can hardly blame our relatives and others in our lives who are not so aware for still expecting some kind of disclosure because that is what they are socialized to expect. And it is also the story many queer people are told to tell. We have to continue to change attitudes about sexuality in general. Sexuality is fluid and dynamic and sexualities are multiple and diverse, even so-called heterosexualities.


Leave a Reply

